Shepherds Country Inn Shepherds Country Inn

Reviews

Friday Evening

 Came here for evening meal as recommended and we were not disappointed. Friendly welcome on arrival, lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious. Will definitely be back soon. 

Janet Featherstone03/07/2017

Relaxing Sunday Lunch

 Warm welcome from the staff, lovely shabby chic style dinning room, the food was all fresh vegetables, delicious meat, choice of 3 pork, beef or chicken, plenty of everything, service was really quick too, all together lovely little pub

Visited June 2017 

via tripadvisor15/06/2017

Fab! Fab! Fab!

 Came here for a Birthday as it was recommended, they fitted all 12 of us in after originally booking for 8. The staff gave us a Lovely welcome and the Home Made food was excellent. Drinks are reasonable too. We went home a very happy party. I had 8oz rump and chips.. one word... 'Delicious'. Also got to taste the onion rings and garlic baguette with cheese they were yummy.

The place itself is so cosy inside with a lovely beer garden out front and to the rear, it's a real hidden Gem.

They also do afternoon tea but you have to book in advance.

Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2017 

via tripadvisor14/06/2017

Mothering Sunday Treat

 Have been told to try this place many times by family who are regulars but have never gotten around to it, but what a lovely treat. So we came here for mothers day, the meal was huge and great value for money and the staff very friendly.

Kitchen staff well done, waiting and bar staff very good, will recommend you to any one.

Keep up the good work!

Visited March 2017 

via tripadvisor31/03/2017

Luscious Lunch

 Another visit to Shepherds Inn, this time taking a friend along to sample their food. And we were not disappointed, an excellent two course lunch for £7.95 with even a choice of home made soups for my starter which was delicious!

A hearty main course consisting of Fish and a jacket potato with salad a yummy Baileys cheesecake to finish which I added on after not a lot of persuasion!

Shepherds is a welcoming, relaxing experience and the staff could not do enough to please us.

In a small village setting, it is in a rural location, however is just a ten minute drive from the M4 and the main route into Swansea it's well worth the visit you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2017 

via tripadvisor13/03/2017

Excellent

 Great vegeterian food here, so delicious. 

Yvonne08/03/2017

Sunday Lunch

 One of the best home cooked Sunday lunches I've ever had - very good indeed!

We had booked the later sitting at 2-2.30 and the restaurant was fairly full when we arrived but the staff greeted us warmly and showed us to our table. We were a family of 8 people. The service was friendly and the time between courses was just perfect.

This was the first time that we had all visited this restaurant and we all said how much we enjoyed our food and the service was without fault. It was nice and warm inside and the tables were nicely spaced out in the restaurant. the staff were very attentive to everyone needs and simply lovely.

We will definitely go back to this lovely country pub and I would certainly recommend it to others for Sunday lunch .

Visited January 2017 

via tripadvisor01/02/2017

Lovely Sunday Lunch

 Rang them on the morning to see if they could fit 4 of us in. The lady who answered the phone was really helpful and accommodated us. On arrival it was a very welcoming place. Sometimes 'local' pubs can be daunting to outsiders but no this place everyone was very welcoming.

We all had 3 courses, one homemade soup, three pates, very nice. Four beef dinners, plenty of veg, carrots, peas, cabbage, swede, mash potatoes and leek in cheese sauce. for desserts two of us had apple tart and custard, which was lovely, one homemade rice pudding, which was the best ever tasted and one chocolate cake with cream, one very small criticism we asked for it with cream expecting it to come in a little jug, but it was already poured on.

Waiters and waitresses were very polite and efficient.

Well worth a visit and hoping to return to this little gem.

Visited January 2017. 

via tripadvisor18/01/2017

No Room At The Inn

 Booked a late lunch the Tuesday after Boxing day, as soon as we arrived we were told a large party of 15 from the local walking club had just arrived and as a result they were running a bit late. Not a problem for us it was Christmas and we wanted a leisurely afternoon. And at least we were told and not left waiting as you sometimes get in other establishments. We opted for for the very reasonably priced 2 courses for £7.95 and were not disappointed the starter of Parsnip soup and a roll was both tasty and hearty, as was my fish and chip main course, generous portions and very appetising.

The service was friendly and helpful, and the pub itself maintains that genuine country feel, that is lacking in so many of the chains these days. We spent the best part of two and a half hours enjoying the food and atmosphere, as we decided to round off with some liqueur coffees as it was Christmas, and the pub was packed.

Shepherds Inn is a delightful country pub with food, the menu looks to have something to please most tastes and pockets, we will definitely return, and I wish the owners and staff the best of luck and every success for the coming year.

Visited December 2016 

via tripadvisor12/01/2017

Always Delicious

 i have been her with my wife and friends and also work colleagues on separate occasions. We have always enjoyed the food served. The beer is excellent. Prices are acceptable. I have not been since the new owners have taken over but i am going this Sunday for lunch i hope the other reviews are correct as i am expecting a lovely meal hope there is plenty of potatoes 

Ronnie Williams23/09/2016

What A Weekend

 What a weekend at the Shepherds. An excellent fundraising effort by all raising almost £5,000 for Nell May Connick. Friday pop-quiz was excellent, the packed-out Saturday Hog Roast, the live band and the auction, made it a Saturday to remember. Well done to everyone involved, great weekend 

Keith Roberts30/08/2016

Sunday Lunch Excellent

 First visit to the Shepherds yesterday for Sunday Lunch. My wife, myself and our 2 kids thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the service. The meal was served piping hot and was like mother used to make. Highly recommended - great value too. 

Warren Bailey25/07/2016

A spot of lunch

 My friend recommended this restaurant. We arrived on a very cold Saturday afternoon at about 1.15pm. There was only one other couple dining. A friendly young girl behind the bar who also was the waitress. We ordered from the specials board, I had Thai fish cake to start and the Lamb shank with new potatoes and fresh vegetables, my friend had the haddock starter and the duck in a bread pudding! Unfortunately they had run out of the haddock so settled for the same starter as myself. The food was delicious and very reasonable. Very friendly service. 

Lynda F22/11/2015

An out-of-the-way find

 The chances of stumbling on this place by accident are very small. However it's worth seeking it out. The standard of food is excellent and the young lady behind the bar who doubled as the waitress was lovely. It is only open for lunch Friday to Sunday so we went on a Saturday. The only reason I deducted a star was the fact that they only one starter on their specials board which I ordered then was told after my order went through it was not available. Started with the Thai fishcakes and then went on to have the duck pudding which was so much nicer than it sounds, something different and very tasty. My friend had a lambshank which had a beautiful sauce. Both dishes were off the specials board. The main menu contains standard pub grub which, if the specials are anything to go by, would be tasty and well cooked. Seek it out. 

Sue B21/11/2015

Excellent Evening Out

 Celebrating a family birthday, the whole evening was perfect. A great menu to choose from, a good bar range and wine list all at reasonable prices. The whole atmosphere was relaxed whilst being efficient and welcoming. The background music was in the background so we could chat in comfort . We have been a few times before and will certainly return as we always enjoy our time there. 

Adrian L28/10/2015

leave a review

Rate The Shepherds Country Inn click to rate